top of page

Brittney Haselwood, PhD candidate in Biomedical Engineering

​​​

I work on novel materials and assay developments to create a sensor like the blood glucose meter which will determine if someone has a traumatic brain injury.

What first got you interested in pursuing a career in science?

I was actually pre-med until my sophomore year in college. My physics and calculus teacher in high school convinced me to major in engineering since I was inclined to it, but I never saw myself doing research. He must have known something then, because I liked engineering way more than strictly medicine. Biomedical engineering is an amazing way to become well-rounded in multiple engineering disciplines and be able to do medical-esque research, including working with clinicians. When I decided to try research in the summer before my junior year, I learned how much was possible, and I have been a lab rat ever since.

Do you have any role models you've looked up to during your career?

In high school I was convinced by my physics and calculus teacher, Mr. Clark, to major in engineering instead of biochemistry just like every other pre-med student in the world. He instilled in me many principles I still use today, like: doing something once is luck, three times is good, but five times is skill! However, being a woman in engineering is a rare thing, especially in academia. For that reason, there are not usually many female role models to look up to in one's own department. But right before I started my PhD, we got a new faculty member who, as a bonus for me, works on animal models of traumatic brain injury. I have looked up to Dr. Stabenfeldt for many reasons including what assitant faculty life is like for a woman. And what is arguably most important, I look up to friends and a fellow feamle PhD candidates who just know how to have fun. The motivation to keep volunteering for more pain in the lab is sometimes very difficult, but having a friend to put a smile on your face during those times is definitely a trait to desire!

What's your favorite thing about working in science?

I love making things, especially when it involves super dangerous chemicals that can burn your skin off. In a way it makes me feel like Indiana Jones walking into the cave to find the holy grail. I know that sounds silly, but when you work this hard, it's all about the small things! I also love it when I can solve a problem no one else can. It of course makes me feel awesome, but every small victory is one step closer to realizing my vision, which will literally impact millions of lives each year. Try having that much of an impact as a physician!

What's something awesome about you outside of your ground-breaking scientific discoveries?

I am incredibly fond of anything to do with MINIONS! I have all kinds of funny signs posted in my lab with minion pictures and phrases which are especially handy during the plenty of times I do fail, so I can think of happier and simpler things :)

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page